Northern Fortress - Fredriksten

Fredriksten - a fortress on the hill

The first fortifications in the border town of Halden appeared in 1643-45 and consists of a small artillery timber blockhouse on the site of the present Citadel and a wooden palisade to the south of it obstructing the valley road of the city.

In 1658, Northern Seven Years War between Sweden and Denmark-Norway  ended with  agreement in Roskild, according to whom greedy Sweden, among other things, acquired a Norwegian province of Bohus with big fortress with the same name. The new border passed along the river Tisra, on which the small town of Halden was. From 1658 to 1661 Halden three times was subjected to the Swedish invasions. It's fortifications were improved, new forts and palisades were built. In 1658 citizens and the surrounding peasants together defended their native land from 1500 Swedish troops  from a nearby Bohusln. It became clear that the city had an important strategic position and the Danish King Frederick III ordered to build a powerful stone fortress here.

After half a year the Swedes attacked with renewed vigor, but Halden at that time had a small and bold garrison under the command of colonel Tonne Huitfeld, who repulsed Swede's assault.

In January 1660 Swedes had taken a big invasion to Christiania (Oslo) to finally conquer all the Norway. On the way of the invaders a new stone fortress of the five bastions was stand. By that time it was renamed as Fredriksten (and the city became known as Fredrikskhald), in honor of the Danish King Frederick III. Its fortifications were designed by Danish military engineer Villem Coucheron. The garrison of 2,100 people flatly refused to surrender the fortress the Swedes began the regular siege with furious assaults and bombing. Norwegians have withstand and late February Swedes hit the road. In February 1660, Charles X Gustav died and peace negotiations began again.

Taking advantage of peace time, Norwegians in 1673-75 years modernized their fortifications along the Swedish borders. It's current outline the Citadel got during this period. In 1673, the newly appointed Danish Governor-General Ulrik Frederik Gyldenløve inspected the Norwegian border fortifications. On his orders new fortifications were erected.

At the beginning of the so-called Gyldenløves war in 1675-79 Fredriksten fortress was used as the base for the operation of the Danish-Norwegian forces in Bohuslen. In 1676-77 4 thousand Norwegian troops under the command of General Russenstein took all Bohusln, captured an important fortress of Marstrand, and united with the Danish Army of General Lovenhjelm, hammered 8000 Swedish army of General de la Gardie.

Border was moved south, but Fredriksten continued to strengthen and improve. In 1682-1701 three forts on the commanding heights around the Citadel - Gyldenløve, Overberget and Stortarnet were built, as well as strengthening to the west of the Citadel - Borgerskansen or Citizen fortification.

In 1700 the Great Northern War began. Harsh time for Norwegians came in 1716. By that time, more than 5,000 of the best Norwegian troops were sent to fight on the continent. In March 1716, Charles XII invaded Norway and seized the capital Christiania, but failed to take the fortress Akerhus because lack of heavy artillery. It was not good for him to have the Fredriksten fortress with Norwegian troops in his rear and he decided at first to settle deal with a cheeky fortress.

July 4 of that year, the Swedes attacked Fredrikskhald all at once, but the townspeople lit their homes and retreated under the protection of the fortress. Swedes have no means for the long siege and had to get out.

Two years later, in the autumn of 1718 they came under the walls of the fortress again, armed with heavy artillery and everything necessary for a long siege. Garrison at that time was 1,400 desperate fighters who resisted fiercely and devotedly, nevertheless the beginning of December of the next year the Swedes managed to take Gyldenløve fort and began to dig trenches under the wall of the Citadel.

Late in the evening December 11, 1718, Karl XII, personally inspected  siege works and was killed instantly by a bullet in the head. Unexpectedly for defenders of the fortress, Swedes lifted the siege and got out. There is debates about who killed Charles XII until now. The poor king had experienced four exhumation after his death,  last one was in the 1900s (see photo).

It was established that he was shot in the head by a bullet caliber about 18 mm and  such caliber new muskets shortly before were received for Swedish officers. However, the same caliber buckshot was used for its Norwegian artillery. Norwegians prised for this kill to themselves, but Swedes says: who knows, maybe it was some one from our ranks... That was very exhausting war. In any case, the monument to Charles XII in Stockholm is fenced with strong chain by Swedes so 'the damned king did not go again somewhere.'

During the Russian-Swedish War of 1788-90 fortress served as the operational base of the Danish-Norwegian troops during their attacks on the Swedes in Bohuslen. However, due to the intervention of Prussia and the United Kingdom, Denmark was forced to stop hostilities and declare neutrality.

 

During Napoleonic Wars in 1814, the fortress was attacked again by Swedes but withstood. New Swedish King Karl Johans (Bernadotte) instead of lost Finland,was promised Norway, which was taken from Denmark, ally of France. But  Norwegians announced it's independence.  Swedes invaded immediately and on his way to Christiania besieged Fredriksten. Norwegian garrison was held until the end of the war and lowered the flag only after the conclusion of a peace treaty, under which Norway entered into a union with Sweden.

In the 19th century. the fortress lost its military significance to a large extent, however, there continued to be a strong garrison, as  surrounding Norwegian population was not happy about Swedish rule. At the end of the century new large-caliber guns  were installed at the Citadel and in the outer fortifications.

After the break the union with Sweden fortress has to be completely disarmed in accord of the treaty, but it continued lodge Norwegian military for a long time. Military abandoned fortress in 2005, but  College of military logistics and administration is here to this day.

Today Fredriksten fortress is open to visitors. There are several museums, it hosts the annual exhibition and a wide variety of events such as opera and song festivals, military-historical reenactments, etc. The public is looking forward to 2018, when it turns 300 years from the date of the last siege of the fortress. After large-scale restoration works at the end of the 2010s every summer evening fortress visitors can see free light show - light pictures of the history of the fortress walls on its bastions.

Impressions

Impressions are a very, very positive, as in general all in the Scandinavia, even in spite of the Norwegian weather. The fortress stands on the mountain and fantastic views of the city Halden and surrounding mountains, fjords, fields and pastures can be seen from it' bastions. Bastions of the fortress beautifully harmonize with high mountain ridge and dominates the town and peaceful Norwegian nature all around.

To the top of the page
Home > Fredriksten: Main Photo Where is it? Lay out Links
Staraja Ladoga Shlisselburg Kexholm  Koporje  Vyborg Bip Castle Gatchina K.B.Monastery Peter&Paul Fortress Tikhvin Izborsk Novgorod Pskov Ivangorod Porkhov Pechory Latrun Masada Raseborg Olavinlinna Taavetti Lappeenranta Hamina Kyminlinna Hameenlinna Kastelholm Turku Svartholm Narva Tallinn Vaxholm Visby Carlsten Oscarsborg Høytorp Fredriksten Hegra
Fort Ino  Fort Krasnaya Gorka  Kronstadt  Fort Alexander  North. Forts  South. Forts  Sveaborg  Hanko 
Coastal Artillery 
Mannerheim Line  KaUR  Nevskij Bridge­head  VT Line  KrUR  Salpa Line  Harparskog Line  Gotland  
Russian version   Guest Book
S e a r c h . . .
manufactured by Goss.Ru
Hosted by: hc.ru

Alex Goss Photography -    ,   ,   ...

Северные крепости - Фредрикстен

Фредрикстен - крепость на горе

Всё это было давным-давно. Была Кальмарская уния между Швецией, Данией и Норвегией - союз нерушимый республик свободных сплотила вроде бы навеки великая Дания. Ан нет, в серии войн Швеция с мясом выдралась из союза нерушимого и, пошло-поехало...

Первые укрепления в пограничном норвежском городке Хальден появились в 1643-45 гг и представляли из себя небольшой артиллерийский деревоземляной блокгауз на месте нынешней Цитадели и деревянный палисад к югу от него, перегораживающий долину с дорогой на город.

В 1658 году Северная (Семилетняя) война между Швецией и Данией-Норвегией закончилась договором в Роскильде (Roskilde), по коему алчная Швеция в числе всего прочего заполучила норвежскую провинцию Бохус с одноименной крепостью. Новая граница прошла по речке Tisra, на которой и стоял этот неприметный городок Хальден, который в период с 1658 по 1661 три раза подвергался нашествию шведов. Укрепления совершенствовались, строились новые форты и палисады. В 1658 году горожане и окрестные крестьяне сообща отстояли родные нивы и пажити от 1500 шведов, заявившихся из соседнего Бохуслёна. Стало ясно, что город имеет важное стратегическое положение и датский король Фредрик III приказал строить здесь мощную каменную крепость.

Через пол года шведы атаковали с новыми силами, однако Хальден к тому времени имел небольшой гарнизон под командой Tonne Huitfeld, который и отбил шведов с уроном.

В январе 1660 года шведы предприняли большой поход на Христианию (Осло) с целью завоевать наконец всю Норвегию. На пути захватчиков встала новая каменная крепость о пяти бастионах, к тому времени переименованная в Фредрикстен (а город стал называться Фредриксхальд), в честь датского короля Фредерика III. Проектировал укрепления датский военный инженер Villem Coucheron. Гарнизон в 2100 человек сдать крепость отказался наотрез и шведы приступили к правильной осаде со штурмами и бомбардировками. Норвежцы выстояли и в конце февраля шведы ушли ни с чем. В феврале 1660 года умер Карл X Густав, снова начались мирные переговоры.

Воспользовавшись мирной передышкой, норвежцы в 1673-75 гг модернизировали свои укреплениям вдоль границ. Свои нынешние очертания Цитадель получила именно в этот период. В 1673 вновь назначенный датский генерал-губернатор Ulrik Frederik Gyldenløve инспектировал пограничные норвежский укрепления. По его указанию были возведены новые верки.

В начале т.н. Гильденлёвской войны 1675-79 гг Фредрикстен служил базой для операций датско-норвежских сил в Бохуслене. В 1676-77 гг 4-х тысячное норвежское войско под командой генерала Russenstein заняло весь Бохуслён, захватило важную крепость Марстранд и, соединившись с датской армией генерала Lovenhjelm, разбили 8-и тысячную шведскую армию генерала de la Gardie.

Граница отодвинулась на юг, но укрепления Фредрикстена продолжали строиться и совершенствоваться. В 1682-1701 были построены три форта на командных высотах вокруг Цитадели - Gyldenløve, Overberget и Stortarnet, а также укрепление к западу от Цитадели - Borgerskansen.

В 1700 году началась Великая Северная война. Для норвежцев пора тяжких испытаний настала в 1716 году. К тому времени более 5000 лучших норвежских войск были отправлены воевать на континент. В марте 1716 года Карл XII вторгся в Норвегию и захватил столицу Христианию, однако взять крепость Акерхуз не сумел, а имея в тылу норвежскую армию с базой в Фредрикстене на длительную осаду не осмелился, но решил сначала разделаться с нахальной крепостью.

4 июля того же года шведы атаковали Фредриксхальд, однако горожане зажгли собственные дома и отступили под защиту крепостных верков. Не имя средств для правильной осады шведы вынуждены были убраться восвояси.

Через два года осенью 1718 года они появились под стенами крепости вновь, вооруженные тяжёлой артиллерией и всем необходимым для длительной осады. Гарнизон крепости в ту пору составлял 1400 отчаянных бойцов, которые сопротивлялись яростно и самоотверженно, тем не менее к началу декабря следующего года шведы сумели взять форт Gyldenløve и начали рыть апроши под стены самой Цитадели.

Поздним вечером 11 декабря 1718 года Карл XII, самолично осматривая осадные траншеи, был убит наповал пулей в голову. Неожиданно для защитников крепости, шведы сняли осаду и ушли. До сих пор ведутся споры о том, кто убил Карла XII. Бедняга король после своей смерти пережил четыре эксгумации, последнюю - в 1900-х годах (см фото).

Установлено, что он был убит выстрелом в висок пулей калибра 18 мм и как раз такого калибра новые мушкеты незадолго до того поступили для вооружения шведских офицеров. Однако такого же калибра картечь норвежцы использовали для своей артиллерии. Норвежцы сие деяние приписывают себе, шведы говорят - кто знает, а может и мы... Он нас тоже достал! Как бы то ни было, памятник Карлу XII в Стокгольме они огородили прочной цепью, чтобы "этот чертов король опять куда нибудь не пошёл".

Во время русско-шведской войны 1788-90 гг крепость служила базой датско-норвежских войск во время их нападений на шведов. Однако из за вмешательства Пруссии и Великобритании Дания была вынуждена прекратить свои поползновения и объявить о нейтралитете.

В эпоху Наполеоновских войн в 1814 году крепость вновь была атакована, опять шведами и снова выстояла. Новому шведскому королю Карлу-Юхану (Бернадоту) взамен отнятой Финляндии, союзники Россия и Англия пообещали Норвегию, в свою очередь отнятую у союзника Франции, Дании. Пока суть да дело, норвежцы подсуетились и объявили незалежность. Шведы тут же вторглись и на своём пути на Христианию осадили Фредрикстен. Норвежский гарнизон держался до конца войны и спустил флаг только после заключения мирного договора, по которому Норвегия вступала в унию со Швецией.

В 19 в. крепость потеряла своё военное значение в значительной мере, однако там продолжал находиться сильный гарнизон, поскольку окрестное население было настроено далеко не про-шведски. В конце века в Цитадели и во внешних укреплениях были установлены новые крупнокалиберные орудия.

После разрыва унии со Швеции, согласно договору крепость должна была быть полностью разоружена, однако в ней долгое время продолжали квартировать норвежские военные и крепость была в их ведении аж до 2005 года. Колледж военной логистики и администрации находится здесь по сию пору.

Нынче крепость открыта для посетителей. Здесь имеется несколько музеев, проводятся ежегодные выставки и множество разнообразных мероприятий, таких как оперные постановки, песенные фестивали, военно-исторические реконструкции и т.п. Общественность с нетерпением ждёт 2018 года, когда исполнится 300 лет со дня последней осады крепости. После масштабных реставрационных работ в конце 2010-х гг каждый летний вечер посетители крепости могут бесплатно наблюдать светофеерическое шоу - световые картины из истории крепости на стенах её бастионов. И сие зело предивно...

Впечатления

Впечатления весьма и весьма положительные, как вообще всё скандинавское, даже не взирая на норвежскую погоду. Крепость стоит на горе и с верков ея открываются совершенно офигительные виды на город Хальден, окрестные горы, нивы и пажити, а также сопредельную шведскую территорию.

Бастионная крепость, красиво вписанная в гребень высокой горы доминирует над мирным норвежским городком и проливом, за которыми виднеется хмурая шведская заграница.

В крепости проходил масштабный ремонт, но это не сильно помешало осмотру, и даже помогло сэкономить некоторое количество ценной норвежской валюты.

Водитель погрузчика, занятого на ремонтных работах в крепости, простой норвежский рабочий человек, пролетарий - говорит на трёх иностранных языках (английский, шведский и украинский), кроме родного норвежского.

Хочется поехать ещё... Но когда и как...?

На верх страницы
Домой > Фредрикстен: Главная Фото Где это План Ссылки
Старая Ладога  Шлиссельбург  Кексгольм  Копорье  Выборг  Замок Бип  Гатчина К.Б.монастырь Петропавловка Тихвин Изборск Псков Ивангород Новгород Порхов Печоры Латрун Масада Разеборг Савонлинна Тааветти Лаппеенранта Хамина Кюменьгород Хямеэнлинна Кастельхольм Турку Свартхольм Нарва Таллинн Ваксхольм Висбю Карлстен Оскарсборг Хойторп Фредрикстен Хегра
Форт Ино  Форт Красная Горка  Кронштадт  Форт Александр  Сев. Форты  Юж. Форты  Свеаборг  Ханко 
Береговая Артиллерия 
КаУР  Линия Маннергейма  Невский пятачок  Карельский вал  КрУР  Линия Салпа  Линия Харапарског  Готландский  УР 
English version
Я в ВК   Я в FaceBook
Гостевая Книга (не работает)
П о и с к
manufactured by Goss.Ru
Hosted by: hc.ru

Alex Goss Photography - Фотографии городов и стран, битв и сражений, разного и прочего...