Northern Fortress - Fort Latrun

Fort Latrun

Latrun (Hebrew: לטרון, in Arabic: اللطرون) is a hill near to the important highway Jerusalem-Tel Aviv at the entrance to the valley of Ayalon. The place has a great strategic importance, because possibility to control the communication between the Dead Sea and the Mediterranean coast. There are two versions of the origin of the name of Latrun: the first says that it distorted the French 'Le toron des chevaliers', ie 'Tower of Knight' and refers to the era of the Crusaders, the second version says that the name came from the pilgrims in the 14th century and has its origin from the Latin 'Domus boni Latronis' or 'House of penitent thief', the one who was crucified with Christ.

In biblical times the Israelites fought here with the Amorites (Egyptians), and Judas Maccabaeus very firmly put the Greeks of the Seleucid Empire while attacked them from ambush. Certainly here his camp was and sure he chose this strategic point, because he was clever man and perspicacious person, he has been mentioned in the Book of the Maccabees not without reason and founded the Hasmonean dynasty afterwords.

Unfortunately, there are almost nothing to left of  those glorious times, so we'll move right into the era of the Crusades. Le Toron was first mentioned in the writings of the Jewish traveler and adventurer on his tohes notorious Benjamin of Tudela (region of Navarra) (aka בִּנְיָמִין מִטּוּדֶלָה, aka بنيامين التطيلي). In report about his trip of 1170-71 he apparently mentioned this place. The second source of information is the Chronics Adefonsi Imperatoris or Chronicle of Emperor Alfonso. It tells about Illustrious Knight Earl Gonzalez (Rodrigo Gonzalez de Lara), who went to Jerusalem to fight evil infidels, and by the way founded La Toron castle not far from Ashkelon, strengthened it considerably, and then gave it to the Templars. From all the above, we have some reason to conclude that Latrun castle was founded in the late 1130s and was one of the first Templar's castles in the Kingdom of Jerusalem.

In 1187, glorious Salah al-Din (صلاح الدين) whether captured the castle, or received it in exchange for the release from captivity the Grand Master of the Templars Gerard de Ridefort, and four years later ordered to raze it to the ground, in eve of invasion of crusader forces under the leadership of King Richard the Lionheart. In 1229, Frederick II acquired Jerusalem and surroundings in the negotiation process, but with the condition not to build new or rebuild old fortifications. Since then, the castle was not restored, and its ruins were regularly used as a quarry for the construction of the nearby Arab village named al-Latrun.

In 1890 Trappist monks (Silent) from France founded a monastery here, brought the vine and began to vaccinate the local population advanced culture of vine drinking. The bossiness went quite well, but Great War begun and in 1914 the Turks expelled monks and ruined all the moonshine. In 1926 monks returned, a new monastery building was erected and wine making was flourished again. I have tasted the fruits of their labors and was satisfied, though some local peoples swear the vine is non-kosher...

After World War I Palestine became a British mandated territory. In the 1936-1939 Arab revolt blazed here and then the British, in order to establish neue Ordnung at the territory, had built in different parts of the country fortified strongpoints and Forts. One of them was built here in Latrune as the place for police fort is very kosher (in the sense - very, very good).

It should be mentioned that in this area also not a big detention camp for Arab revolts and the members of the Jewish Haganah defense organization was situated, as well as German and Italian prisoners of war were here. Among famous prisoners Moshe Sharett, the future Prime Minister of Israel could be mentioned.

By 1948, all that Palestinian's tsores und makes (Idish: the big problem) became to annoying for the British and they decided to get away and transfer the fate of Palestine in the hands of the UN. British left the Fort May 14 and for a few days Latrun was in the hands of the Jewish Haganah unit, but having received the order to go to Jerusalem, they were gone and May 18 the Fort was occupied by the Jordanians from the Arab Legion. They immediately blocked the road to Jerusalem, while the city was under siege. The situation was very bad for Jews, especially after Arabs cut the water line that supplied the blocked city with water.

May 14 the independence of Israel was proclaimed and from May 24 Israelis began to storm the Latrun. There were three big offensive and all of them were unsuccessful due to poor organization and lack of basic necessities - equipment, weapons and ammunition. Then a so-called 'Burmese' road to Jerusalem runs south to Latrun was hastily built. It was named Burmese road (דרך בורמה - darekh Burma) by analogy with the highway, which the Allies supplied  Kuomintang China during the Second World War.

In 1949, after the ceasefire the Fort remained in the hands of the Jordanians and was surrounded by a strip of no-man-land. 'Latrun Silent' was a big problem for Israel, because despite the agreement, there were numerous incidents on the road to Jerusalem. During the Six-Day War Fort was taken within a few hours on the night of 5 to 6 of June by 4th Brigade (commander Moshe Yovet).

In 1982, at the area around Fort Latrun  Tank Museum Jad La-Shiryon (יד לשריון) with the memorial to the fallen soldiers Israel's Armoured Forces was founded.


Tank Museum is a famous and well known tourist attraction which is worth to visit all lovers of authentic military equipment. I would say, it's silly to get to Israel and drive past. Also not far from Latrun a 'Mini-Israel' attraction is and the ancient ruins of Nikopol in nearest Canada park are interesting too.

Monastery was closed for visitors at the time. But there is a wine shop and you can stock up. Very inexpensive and very good. By the way - there is no sobering-up stations in Israel, despite of quite big Russian diaspora.

About the Fortress. Monks and traders in vine shop no nothing about the fortress... But there is a fortress! The fortress is abandoned and not fenced and it is a very unusual for Israel. Israel is generally a country of fences (I thought it was Russia). Of course, there is not much left of the 12th century, but there is something from the 20th century. It would be interesting to wander here with a metal-detector ...

There should be a concrete shed on the place of former detention camp, but I did not find it.

Resume: Latrun is strongly recommended to visit both with children and without. Tanks, monastery, fortresses, ancient ruins of Nicopolis (Emmaus Nicopolis) in the Canada Park, and of course - wine shop ... Plus 'Burma Road' and a memorial to the burned-out trucks on the highway №1 (see to the left when you come by the road from Latrun to Jerusalem). The program of the day will be busy and thick, as water in the Dead Sea ...


To the top of the page
Home > Fort Latrun: Main Fortress Tank museum Latrun: Where is it Links
Staraja Ladoga Shlisselburg Kexholm  Koporje  Vyborg Bip Castle Gatchina K.B.Monastery Peter&Paul Fortress Tikhvin Izborsk Novgorod Pskov Ivangorod Porkhov Pechory Latrun Masada Raseborg Olavinlinna Taavetti Lappeenranta Hamina Kyminlinna Hameenlinna Kastelholm Turku Svartholm Narva Tallinn Vaxholm Visby Carlsten Oscarsborg Høytorp Fredriksten Hegra
Fort Ino  Fort Krasnaya Gorka  Kronstadt  Fort Alexander  North. Forts  South. Forts  Sveaborg  Hanko 
Coastal Artillery 
Mannerheim Line  KaUR  Nevskij Bridge­head  VT Line  KrUR  Salpa Line  Harparskog Line  Gotland  
Russian version   Guest Book
S e a r c h . . .
manufactured by Goss.Ru
Hosted by:

Alex Goss Photography - Фотографии городов и стран, битв и сражений, разного и прочего...

Северные крепости - Форт Латрун

Форт Латрун

Латрун (на иврите: לטרון‎, по арабски: اللطرون‎) это холм у трассы Иерусалим-Тель-Авив на входе в долину Аялон. Место имеет большое стратегическое значение, потому как кто тут сидит, тот контролирует сообщение между Мертвым и Средиземным морем. Есть две версии происхождения названия местности: первая гласит что это искажённое французское "Le toron des chevaliers", т.е. "Башня рыцаря" и относится к эпохе крестоносцев, вторая версия полагает, что название пошло от пилигримов в 14 в. от латинского "Domus boni Latronis" или "Дом кающегося вора", т.е. того, кто был распят рядом с Христом.

В библейские времена израелиты бились тут с аморитами (египтянами), а Иуда Маккавей весьма крепко вставил грекам из империи Селевкидов, напав на них из засады. Наверняка для своего лагеря он выбрал именно этот стратегический пункт, поскольку был умен и прозорлив, не зря же он потом попал в Книгу Маккавеев и основал Хасмонейскую династию.

К сожалению, от тех славных времён тут почти ничего не осталось фортификационного, потому сразу двинем в эпоху Крестовых походов. Le Toron впервые упоминается в записках еврейского путешественника и искателя приключений на свой тохес некоего Беньямина из Туделы, что в области Наварра (он же בִּנְיָמִין מִטּוּדֶלָה, он же  بنيامين التطيلي‎). В его отчёте о поездке за 1170-71 гг. упоминается видимо именно это место. Второй источник - Chronica Adefonsi Imperatoris или Хроника императора Альфонса рассказывает, как достославный рыцарь граф Гонзалес (Rodrigo Gonzalez de Lara) отправился в Иерусалим хорошенько проучить неверных, а по дороге основал замок La Toron в виду Ашкелона, укрепил его изрядно и затем отдал тамплиерам. Из всего вышеизложенного мы имеем некоторые основания заключить, что замкок Латрун был основан в конце 1130-х гг и являлся одним из первых замков тамплиеров в Иерусалимском королевстве.

В 1187 г. Салах-ад-Дин (صلاح الدين‎‎) то ли захватил замок, то ли получил его в обмен на освобождение из плена великого магистра тамплиеров Жерара де Ридфора, а через четыре года приказал его сравнять с землёй, ввиду вероятного нашествия крестоносных войск под водительством короля Ричарда Львиное сердце. В 1229 г. Фридрих II заполучил Иерусалим и окрестности в переговорном процессе, но с условием не строить и не восстанавливать укрепления. С тех пор замок и не восстанавливался, а развалины регулярно использовали как каменоломню для постройки близлежащего арабского селения аль-Латрун.

В 1890 г монахи-трапписты (молчальники) из Франции основали тут монастырь, завели виноградную лозу и начали прививать местному населению передовую культуру пития. Дело шло хорошо, но грянула первая мировая и в 1914 году турки монахов выгнали и ништяк порушили. В 1926 году монахи вернулись, отстроили новое здание и снова занялись виноделием. Плоды их трудов вкушал, очень неплохо, хоть некоторые местные ругаются, что некошерно...

После Первой мировой войны Палестина стала подмандатной территорией Британии. В 1936-1939 гг здесь полыхало арабское восстание после чего англичане, в целях установления neue Ordnung на территории, понастроили в разных местах страны укрепленных пунктов и фортов. Один из них естественным образом оказался здесь, в Латруне, поскольку место для устройства форта очень даже кошерное.

Надобно упомянуть, что в этой местности также был небольшой концлагерь для восставших арабов и членов еврейской Хаганы (самообороны), а также немецких и итальянских военнопленных. Из известных людей, сидевших тут, можно вспомнить Моше Шарета, будущего премьер-министра Израиля.

К 1948 году весь этот палестинский цорес стал для англичан хуже горькой редьки и они решили уйти по английски, передав судьбу Палестины в руки ООН. Англичане оставили форт 14 мая. На несколько дней Латрун оказался в руках еврейских ополченцев из Хаганы, но получив приказ идти на Иерусалим, они ушли и 18 мая форт был занят иорданцами из Арабского Легиона. Они полностью блокировали дорогу на Иерусалим, отчего город оказался в блокаде. Положение было весьма кислое, особенно после того, как они перерезали водовод, снабжавший блокадный город водой.

14 мая была провозглашена независимость Израиля, а с 24 мая израильтяне начали штурмовать Латрун. Всего было три больших наступления и все три неудачные, ввиду плохой организации и недостатка самого необходимого - техники, оружия, боеприпасов. В конце концов была спешно построена так называемая "Бирманская" дорога на Иерусалим, пролегавшая южнее Латруна. Бирманской (דרך בורמה‎ - Дарех Бурма) она была названа по аналогии с шоссе, по которому союзники снабжали гоминьдановский Китай во время второй мировой войны.

В 1949 году, после соглашения о прекращении огня форт остался в руках иорданцев и был окружён полосой ничейной земли. "Выступ Латрун" был большой проблемой для Израиля, поскольку несмотря на соглашение, инциденты на дороге в Иерусалим происходили постоянно. Во время Шестидневной войны форт был взят за несколько часов в ночь с 5 на 6-е июня танковой атакой 4-й бригады (командир п-к Моше Йовет).

В 1982 году на территории вокруг форта был основан танковый музей Jad La-Shiryon (יד לשריון‎) с мемориалом павшим солдатам Израильского танкового корпуса.

Впечатления

Танковый музей - известное туристское место, которое стоит посетить всем любителям аутентичной военной техники. Я бы даже сказал, глупо побывать в Израиле и проехать мимо. Тем более там рядом есть "Мини-Израиль" и античные развалины Никополя.

Но! Жарко!!! +35°С в октябре. Надо ехать в январе...

Монастырь. Вовнутрь не пускают молча (т.к. монастырь молчальников). Зато там есть винная лавка и можно затариться. Очень недорого и очень недурственно. Я бы взял ящик, но с шекелями было неважно. Кстати - вытрезвителей в Израиле нету, несмотря на значительную по размеру русскую диаспору.

Крепость. Где крепость, в лавке при монастыре не знают! Нету, говорят... Но крепость есть! Крепость девственно не копанная и не огороженная забором, что для местных палестин огромная редкость. Израиль это вообще страна заборов (а вы думали - Россия?) Конечно, тут мало что осталось от 12 века, зато есть кое что от века 20-го. Интересно было бы побродить тут с детектором...

Говорят, от концлагеря сохранился бетонный барак, но где - не нашёл.

Резюме. Место строго рекомендуется к посещению как с детьми, так и без. Танки, монастырь, крепость, античные развалины Никополя (Emmaus Nicopolis) в парке "Канада", и конечно - винная лавка... Плюс "Бирманская дорога" и мемориал со сгоревшими грузовиками на шоссе №1 (увидите слева, когда поедете из Латруна в Иерусалим). Программа на целый день будет насыщенной событиями, как вода в Мёртвом море солью...

 

На верх страницы
Домой > Форт Латрун: Главная Крепость Танковый музей Где это Ссылки
Старая Ладога  Шлиссельбург  Кексгольм  Копорье  Выборг  Замок Бип  Гатчина К.Б.монастырь Петропавловка Тихвин Изборск Псков Ивангород Новгород Порхов Печоры Латрун Масада Разеборг Савонлинна Тааветти Лаппеенранта Хамина Кюменьгород Хямеэнлинна Кастельхольм Турку Свартхольм Нарва Таллинн Ваксхольм Висбю Карлстен Оскарсборг Хойторп Фредрикстен Хегра Хемсё
Форт Ино  Форт Красная Горка  Кронштадт  Форт Александр  Сев. Форты  Юж. Форты  Свеаборг  Ханко 
Береговая Артиллерия 
КаУР  Линия Маннергейма  Невский пятачок  Карельский вал  КрУР  Линия Салпа  Линия Харапарског  Готландский  УР 
English version
Я в ВК   Я в FaceBook
Гостевая Книга (не работает, сука)
П о и с к
manufactured by Goss.Ru
Hosted by: hc.ru

Alex Goss Photography - Фотографии городов и стран, битв и сражений, разного и прочего...