Northern Fortress - Northern Forts

History

Northern Forts is the circuit of 9 artillery forts (7 number forts and two new forts - Obruchev and Totleben). This forts are the sea artillery instalations on the artifical islands which were built for protectoin of northern fairway to St.Petersburg. Distances between them are near to 2-2,5 kms for continuous gun's fire zone and convenient ammunition supply of forts by water.

First fortification plane of the fairway was made in Peter Great times. However the warks began in 1800th. The continuous pile and rjazevy (the wooden frames filled with boulders and earth) barrier were aranged and two wooden artillery batteries on the piles were constructed also.

In 1824 forts were fairly destroyed by the strongest flooding. In 1827 was made decision to replace wooden strengthenings by stone ones. Just before the Crimean war stone casemates were constructed. It's brick vaults has thickness in the lock near to 2 meters, all forts were reveted with a granite. Three othe forts were built and now  5 casemat's forts defended Northern channel (##5-9 in old numeration).

In June, 1854 the England-French sea squadron has approached near to Kronstadt. They sow to the forts and batteries, lost a pair of ships on mine obstacles (first-ever used here) and got out with anything. The same repeated in 1855-56.

In 1865-70 two extra forts were built with guns in open mountings behind of earth breastwork.  In 1780 rearment on some forts was made and new 1877 9' and 11' guns were installed.

In 1884 guns were removed from casemates and they were used as shelter and mine warehouses. In 1896 forts #3 and #5 outdated completely and were removed from the rank. On the Fort #1 in 1901-10 modernization works were conducted and it became key defensive position of Kronstadt together with newly constructed forts "Totleben" and "Obruchev" and battery "Konstantin".

In 1921 during the Kronstadt's mutiny against "bolsheviks" garrisons of forts were on the insurrection's side.

1941 - WWII. German bomber's pilots has gloomy memoirs about anti-aircraft artillery of Kronstadt and its forts. They wrote that artillery and machine-guns were setting out in all possible places. Oservation posts, artillery positions and concrete machine-gun pillboxes are well preserved on the forts from that times.

After WWII forts were used as warehouses of naval property and ammunitions. In 1960th all guns and metal equipment were gathering for scrap metal - a vivid example of modern vandalizm. A possible intresting tourist objects has been destroyed.

In 1970-90th of the last century protective constructions of Leningrad from flooding (the Dam) were constructed. The dam has been laid straight through forts #3 and #7.

The present condition of forts is poor and pitiable. They are completely deserted, fairly dusted, collapsed, worned out by sand, it's granite facing is stolen for gravestones, and Fort #3 will soon cease to exist because of excavations conducted on the dam.

Impressions

It was very curious to have a look. There are not so many such of installations in over the world, I mean, the combination of a rich history and present decline. In general, this ruins gives very strong impressions and associations for an inquisitive mind.

"If the sea fortress did not make any shot for all war and the enemy considered it unprofitable to enter with competition with it, this fortress will do it’s duty in the best way." - (Klado N.L. " About seaside fortresses from the point of view of fleet ". SPb., 1910). It is worth to agree with this statement, especially because the fortress with extreme expenses and deprivations was constructed after all.

To the top of the page
Home > Northern Forts: Main Fort #1 Fort #2 Fort #3 and #7 Fort Zverev Fort #5 Fort Obruchev Fort Totleben Where is it Links
Staraja Ladoga Shlisselburg Kexholm  Koporje  Vyborg Bip Castle Gatchina K.B.Monastery Peter&Paul Fortress Tikhvin Izborsk Novgorod Pskov Ivangorod Porkhov Pechory Latrun Masada Raseborg Olavinlinna Taavetti Lappeenranta Hamina Kyminlinna Hameenlinna Kastelholm Turku Svartholm Narva Tallinn Vaxholm Visby Carlsten Oscarsborg Høytorp Fredriksten Hegra HemsГ¶
Fort Ino  Fort Krasnaya Gorka  Kronstadt  Fort Alexander  North. Forts South. Forts  Sveaborg  Hanko 
Coastal Artillery 
Mannerheim Line  KaUR  Nevskij Bridge­head  VT Line  KrUR  Salpa Line  Harparskog Line  Gotland  
Russian version   Guest Book
S e a r c h . . .
manufactured by Goss.Ru
Hosted by: hc.ru

Alex Goss Photography - Фотографии городов и стран, битв и сражений, разного и прочего...

Экскурсии по крепостям - Fortress Tours - Silver-Ring.ru

Северные крепости - Северные Форты

История

Северные Форты, общим числом семь, цепью перегораживают путь на Петербург по северному фарватеру. Расстояния меж них 2-2,5 км для сплошного орудийного огня и удобного снабжения припасами по воде.

Первые планы по защите северного фарватера относятся еще к петровскому времени. Однако по-настоящему большие работы начались с 1800-х годов, когда там были устроены сплошные свайные и ряжевые преграды и сооружены две деревянные батареи на сваях, забитых в морское дно зимою со льда.

В 1824 году форты были изрядно разрушены сильнейшим наводнением. В 1827 году решено было заменить деревянные укрепления каменными. Перед Крымской войной были построены каменные казематы. Кирпичные своды имели толщину в замке 2 метра, форты были облицованы гранитом. К этому времени северный  фарватер  защищало  уже 5 фортов (№№5-9 по старой нумерации).

В июне 1854 г. англо-французская эскадра подошла к Кронштадту. Полюбовавшись на форты и батареи и потеряв пару мелких судов на минных заграждениях (первых в мире), отбыли во свояси ни с чем. То же повторялось и в 1855-56 гг.

В 1865-70 гг построили дополнительно ещё два  форта, параллельно с этим провели их перевооружение - орудия теперь ставили открыто за земляной бруствер. 1880 - перевооружение части фортов орудиями 9- и 11дм обр. 1877 г.

В 1884 из старых казематов были убраны орудия и они использовались как укрытия и минные склады. В 1896 году форты №№3 и 5 выведены за штат, поскольку устарели совершенно. На Форту №1 в 1901-10 проводились работы по модернизации и он совместно с фортами "Тотлебен", "Обручев" и батареей "Константин" составили ключевые оборонительные позиции Кронштадта.

1921 г - Кронштадский мятеж. Гарнизоны фортов - на стороне восставших.

1941 - Отечественная война. По невеселым воспоминаниям одного немецкого пилота пикирующего бомбардировщика - в Кронштадте и на фортах зенитки и пулеметы были установлены в огромных количествах везде где только можно. На фортах также были построены наблюдательные пункты и бетонные пулеметные ДОТы, для защиты от десантов с моря.

После войны форты использовались под склады флотского имущества, полигоны для испытания пиррогелей, свалки. В 1960-х годах когда вдруг обнаружилось, что стране позарез нужен металл, прошла компания по сбору металлолома - все железо, которое можно было оторвать, увезти и отчитаться - было оторвано и увезено.

70-90-е гг прошлого века - "Дамба Романовна", оно же защитные сооружения г.Ленинграда от наводнений (по фамилии тогдашнего секретаря горкома единственной на тот момент партии - а может и не его, а царя-батюшки, ведь первые проекты дамбы относятся аж к 1845 году). Дамба проложена прямиком через форты (№№3 и 7).

Нынешнее состояние фортов - как правило убого, плачевно и я бы сказал, постыдно. Они совершенно заброшены, изрядно засраны, разрушаются, заносятся песком, гранит воруется на надгробия, а №3 из-за проводящихся на дамбе земляных работ, по-видимому может скоро вообще перестанет существовать.

Впечатления

Очень любопытно было поглядеть. Таких сооружений вообще мало где еще можно найти, а сочетание богатой истории с нынешним упадком и разорением дает сильные впечатления и острые ассоциации.

"Приморская крепость, которой за всю войну не придется сделать ни одного выстрела из-за того, что неприятель будет считать для себя невыгодным вступить с ней в состязание, наилучшим образом исполнит свою задачу" - (Кладо Н. Л. "О приморских крепостях с точки зрения флота". СПб., 1910). Поскольку крепость неимоверными трудами и лишениями все-таки построена, с вышеприведенным утверждением имеет смысл согласиться.

На верх страницы
Домой > Северные Форты: Главная Форт №1 Форт №2 Форты №№3 и 7 Форт Зверев Форт №5 Форт №6 Форт Обручев Форт Тотлебен Воспоминания Где всё это Ссылки
Старая Ладога  Шлиссельбург  Кексгольм  Копорье  Выборг  Замок Бип  Гатчина К.Б.монастырь Петропавловка Тихвин Изборск Псков Ивангород Новгород Порхов Печоры Латрун Масада Разеборг Савонлинна Тааветти Лаппеенранта Хамина Кюменьгород Хямеэнлинна Кастельхольм Турку Свартхольм Нарва Таллинн Ваксхольм Висбю Карлстен Оскарсборг Хойторп Фредрикстен Хегра Хемсё
Форт Ино  Форт Красная Горка  Кронштадт  Форт Александр  Сев. Форты Юж. Форты  Свеаборг  Ханко 
Береговая Артиллерия 
КаУР  Линия Маннергейма  Невский пятачок  Карельский вал  КрУР  Линия Салпа  Линия Харапарског  Готландский  УР 
English version
Я в ВК   Я в FaceBook
Гостевая Книга (не работает, сука)
П о и с к
manufactured by Goss.Ru
Hosted by: hc.ru

Alex Goss Photography - Фотографии городов и стран, битв и сражений, разного и прочего...

Экскурсии по крепостям - Fortress Tours - Silver-Ring.ru