Northern Fortress - Olavinlinna (Olafsborg, Nyslott, Savonlinna)

History

After the conclusion of Orekhov's peace in 1323 the present territory of Finland was divided between the Novgorod Republic and Sweden Kingdom. However, as it were, the border demarcation was not been undertaken carefully along all the border, so to speak, so many clashes and disturbances begun along the borderline. After all in 1475 the governor of Vyborg Eric Axelson Tott decided to found a frontier fortress on the tiny rocky island in the channel Kuronsalmi, between the lakes of Hankivesi and Pihlajavesi, in the northern part of Saima Lake.

Novgorod considering this place as it's own lands (and indeed, according to the latest explorations border line was at 5 km. north) tried to prevent the construction of the fortress, and even sunk some barge with building materials. However, the place was exceedingly good for the defense and in the summer and winter (the channel where fortress's island was did not freeze) and the Swedish fortress with the help of masons from Revel town was built.

The fortress had at that time three towers connected by walls from the main corps inside of it. Later two more Towers were built - Thick tower and the Kijlin tower where their names. The fortress was named Olavinlinna or Olafsborg or Fortress St.Olaf in honor of first Baptist in Scandinavia Olaf the King of Norway who lived in the 11 AD.

Olavinlinna fortress became the administrative center of Savo province. In 1495 and 1496 Olavinlinna was besieged by troops of Russian tzar Ivan III, but withstood. During the war with Russia of Sweden king Gustav Vasa's time (1555-1557) a fortress had the garrison of two hundred men and withstood several tough sieges.

Olavinlinna was the Swedish border fortress till the beginning of of the Great Northern War in 1700. In 1714 the Russian army besieged the fortress and forced it to surrender after a long and brutal siege. There was a Russian garrison till the end of the war in 1721 when the fortress was given back of the Swedes. However, after the war with Russia 1741—1743 the fortress become the Russian border outpost.

In 1809, after all Finland annexation Olavinlinna fortress lost its military value, although there was a garrison till 1847. In 1850 the fortress was used as a prison.

There were two fires in the fortress in 1860 with considerable damage (there are strange parallels with the Vyborg castle). For some time Olavinlinna was abandoned and deserted. Restoration work began in the early twentieth century and main restoration work were made in 1961-1975, when the fortress was opened for public.

In 1912 first opera festival was held in Savonlinna. These festival were here until 1917 and then resumed in 1967 and continues till nowadays. The stage being constructed each spring in the main courtyard of the fortress and numerous theatrical companies and performances could be seen here as well as the Russians artists of Kirov Ballet from St .Petersburg or Bolshoi Theatre from Moscow. Tickets are sold on half year ahead and there are is not easy to find a cheap accommodation in the area because of this festival.

Impressions

It is need to say the Savonlinna was the first city abroad I have reach. It was at the beginning of the dark era of Perestroika so the impression was a very bright at all.

There is an interesting mix of old towers and walls and a bastion of the new system.

The fortress are renovated neat and tidy, clean and carefully. The fortress used to: a. make money with the tourists, b. as a place for various festivals, celebrations and other conferences, c. for landscape decorating. If you compare it with our Russian fortresses condition you'll understand.

No need in lantern, hiking clothing and boots and etc. what you'll need for exploration of ruins of Mannerheim Line in Karelia for example. But, there ia an entrance fee. Also you need to get a local guide, because there no admittance to upper floors of the towers without guidance.

To the top of the page
Home > Olavinlinna (Olafsborg, Nyslott, Savonlinna): Main Photo Lay out Where is it Links
Staraja Ladoga Shlisselburg Kexholm  Koporje  Vyborg Bip Castle Gatchina K.B.Monastery Peter&Paul Fortress Tikhvin Izborsk Novgorod Pskov Ivangorod Porkhov Pechory Latrun Masada Raseborg Olavinlinna Taavetti Lappeenranta Hamina Kyminlinna Hameenlinna Kastelholm Turku Svartholm Narva Tallinn Vaxholm Visby Carlsten Oscarsborg Høytorp Fredriksten Hegra
Fort Ino  Fort Krasnaya Gorka  Kronstadt  Fort Alexander  North. Forts  South. Forts  Sveaborg  Hanko 
Coastal Artillery 
Mannerheim Line  KaUR  Nevskij Bridge­head  VT Line  KrUR  Salpa Line  Harparskog Line  Gotland  
Russian version   Guest Book
S e a r c h . . .
manufactured by Goss.Ru
Hosted by: hc.ru

Alex Goss Photography - Фотографии городов и стран, битв и сражений, разного и прочего...

Экскурсии по крепостям - Fortress Tours - Silver-Ring.ru

Северные крепости - Савонлинна

История

После заключения Ореховeцкого мира (1323) нынешняя территория Финляндии была поделена между Новгородской республикой и Швецией. Однако, так сказать, демаркации границы проведено не было, что влекло за собой многочисленные пограничные, так сказать, недаразумения. И вот правитель Выборга Эрик Аксельсон (Erik Axelsson Tott) в 1475 году решил основать пограничную крепость на крошечном скальном островке в протоке Kurönsalmi, между озерами Hankivesi и Pihlajavesi, что в северной части озера Saima.

Новгородцы посчитав оное место своими исконными землями (и действительно, по последним данным граница проходила в 5 км. севернее) всячески строительству крепости препятствовали и вредили - топили баржи со стройматериалами и т.п. Однако место было зело удобное для обороны и летом и зимой (протока не замерзала) и шведы крепость при помощи каменщиков из Ревеля построили.

Крепость имела в ту пору 3 башни, соединенные стенами (сохранились две) с главным корпусом внутри. Позже были построены ещё две - Толстая башня и башня Kijlin. Крепость была названа Olavinlinna или Olafsborg или Крепость Св.Олафа - в честь крестителя Скандинавии, который жил в 11 веке.

Крепость стала центром провинции Savo. В 1495 и 1496 гг. Олавинлинна была осаждена войсками Ивана III, но выстояла. В войне Швеции с Россией во времена Густава Ваза (1555-1557) крепость, имея гарнизон всего в две сотни человек выдержала ещё несколько осад.

В 17 веке крепость была перестроена - разобраны две башни и южная стена и устроено 4 новых бастиона.

Олавинлинна была шведской пограничной крепостью до начала Северной войны (1700). В 1714 году была осаждена русскими войсками и сдалась после длительной и жестокой осады. До 1721 года в крепости обосновался росийский гарнизон, однако затем граница была вновь передвинута, и крепость опять отошла к шведам. Однако в 1743 году по мирному договору в Турку крепость снова стала росийской более чем на 100 лет.

В 1809 году, после захвата Росией Финляндии крепость потеряла своё военное значение, хотя гарнизон в ней стоял до 1847 года. С 1850 года крепость использовалась, как это у нас водится, под тюрьму.

В 1860 году в крепости случилось два пожара, принесших весьма значительные разрушения и повреждения (странная паралель с Выборгским замком). Некоторое время памятник стоял заброшен и безлюден.

Восстановительные работы начались еще в начале прошлого века, однако основной их объем был выполнен между 1961-1975.

В 1912 году состоялся первый оперный фестиваль в Савонлинне. Они шли здесь до 1917 года, затем были возобновлены в 1967 году и продолжаются по сей день. Ныне на сцене, устроеной в крепостном дворе, часто можно видеть различные театральные постановки, а также наш родной балет из Мариинского и Большого театров (билеты стоят всего по 30 евров - но распродаются за полгода до спектакля, как и места в местных гостиницах). В многочисленных забегаловках и барах расположенных в бастионах крепости можно также видеть наших знаменитых артистов и музыкантов...

Впечатления

Надобно сказать - что Савонлинна это первый иностранный город, куда я попал. Было сие еще в начале эпохи перестройки (тёмные времена средневековья). Потому впечатления вообще - феерические.

Прежде всего её состояние. Крепость отремонтирована, ухожена, причесана, подметена чисто и тщательно. Крепость используется для: а. зарабатывания денег на туристах, б.проведения разных фестивалей, праздников и прочих конференций, в.для украшения пейзажа. Сравни с Копорьем (хотя, некоторые любят и так...)

Окружающая природа и как она (крепость) в неё (в природу) вписана. Можно ходить кругами и щёлкать, щёлкать... (в смысле - фотоапаратом).

Интересное сочетание старинных башен и стен и более новой бастионной системы.

Фонаря, спичек, запаса еды и грязных штанов (чтоб лазать по подземельям) не требуется. Внутри везде есть электрический свет, и даже (тьфу!) экскурсоводы. Европа-с...

PS: Написал было "в сезон - вход платный!" Ан нет! Поправили меня финские товарищи из Савонлинны: вход всё время платный и замок нынче открыт круглый год. В плату включена экскурсия (а без неё вовнутрь замка не попасть). И там раскажут вам всё вышеизложенное в данном разделе в том числе на родном великом  и могучем... Отчего надобность в сиих страницах постепенно отмирает...

На верх страницы
Домой > Савонлинна: Главная Крепость Статьи План Где это Ссылки
Старая Ладога  Шлиссельбург  Кексгольм  Копорье  Выборг  Замок Бип  Гатчина К.Б.монастырь Петропавловка Тихвин Изборск Псков Ивангород Новгород Порхов Печоры Латрун Масада Разеборг Cавонлинна Тааветти Лаппеенранта Хамина Кюменьгород Хямеэнлинна Кастельхольм Турку Свартхольм Нарва Таллинн Ваксхольм Висбю Карлстен Оскарсборг Хойторп Фредрикстен Хегра Хемсё
Форт Ино  Форт Красная Горка  Кронштадт  Форт Александр  Сев. Форты  Юж. Форты  Свеаборг  Ханко 
Береговая Артиллерия 
КаУР  Линия Маннергейма  Невский пятачок  Карельский вал  КрУР  Линия Салпа  Линия Харапарског  Готландский  УР 
English version
Я в ВК   Я в FaceBook
Гостевая Книга (не работает, сука)
П о и с к
manufactured by Goss.Ru
Hosted by: hc.ru

Alex Goss Photography - Фотографии городов и стран, битв и сражений, разного и прочего...

Экскурсии по крепостям - Fortress Tours - Silver-Ring.ru